I seem to constantly get stuck. Data journalism is really useful and powerful, but it does require a bit of technical know-how to perform. More than any other form of journalism there definitely seems to be a right way to do it and a wrong way to do it.

So in order to help myself when I’ve gotten stuck (and to help me remember what program to use when) I’ve made myself a flowchart.

A flowchart of how to do a data journalism story Stuck? Maybe this can help.

Now, the flowchart does skip over a lot of crunchwork and there are definitely things missing. There’s a lot more tools than the ones I’ve put down. I’ve been recently playing around with SQLite and it seems really useful. So the flowchart will probably need updating in the near future. But it can at least help me wrap my brain around a project. Hopefully you’ll find it at least a little…

View original post 3 altre parole